How 1984’s ending applies to Brexit

We need to take care about what is happening here in the UK with Brexit.

I am tired of it all. I was once light hearted because the people had seen what I saw, and wanted what I wanted; and they voted to ‘leave’. Those were heady days!

Now we have been tortured for two long years with poisonous anti Brexit rhetoric, a biased BBC, an opposition party so vicious, it has become a liability to democracy, a Prime Minister who has had to prostrate herself before our real rulers – the EU – in  embarrassing humility that has ashamed me. The EU have done bugger all whilst they must watch our lunatic antics in parliament with amusement.

They are Big Brother – the biggest brother. Everything we do is directed by them. And the power grows!  Now there is going to be a European Reich, whose supreme leader will be Mrs Merkel. They will be promoting immigration and multiculturalism and legislating that any criticism of immigration/multiculturalism will be “hate speech”. There will be an army.

In 1984 people were made to love Big Brother through thought manipulation, right speak and fear.

We Brexiteers are all like Winston Smith in 1984 following his torture in Room 101. We Brexiteers have endured two years of our torture. In the end of 1984 Winston, succumbs. He is conquered. He admits, at last, that he loves Big Brother.

It is so sad.

I feel like Winston in my heart. I am tired of it all. I long for the time when it will all go away and the UK government can get on with the real issues here.

The whole government have been complicit in the mangling of Brexit. Shame on them.

I think we must not succumb to our rulers, no matter how exhausted we feel.

In 1984 Winston was the only one left who opposed Big Brother, but in the UK, there are many of us. To all the Winstons out there, take heart, do not capitulate, do NOT love Big Brother. We are many!

Leave a comment